United Nations in the Philippines

The Philippines is one of the original 51 founding members of the United Nations that signed the UN Charter in 1945. The UN Country Team (UNCT) in the Philippines consists of eleven resident funds, programmes, and specialized agencies (FAO, IFAD, ILO, IOM, UNDP, UNFPA, UNHCR, UNICEF, UNIDO, WFP, and WHO), six project offices (UNAIDS, UNESCO, UN Habitat, UNODC, UNOPS, UN Women), five non-resident agencies (UNEP, OHCHR, UNOCT, DCO and ITC), and four UN Secretariat offices (RCO/DCO, OCHA, UNIC/DGC and UNDSS). Standing UNCT invitees include ADB, IMF, and the World Bank. The UN assists and supports the Government of the Philippines to address the country's sustainable development, peacebuilding and humanitarian priorities. 

Children in Benguet Province, Philippines
Caption: Children playing in Benguet Province, Philippines
Photo: © WHO

The UN has been a strong partner of the Philippine Government for over seven decades, supporting state institutions to respect, uphold and implement the international treaty obligations and agreed development goals that the Philippines has voluntarily adhered to over the years. To this partnership, the UN has brought normative policy support, technical assistance and advocacy, but most importantly, its ability to convene, coordinate and mobilize stakeholders from across the political spectrum in support of the country’s development agenda. In the Philippines, the quality of its technical assistance and its effectivity and neutrality as convener and coordinator has earned the UN the trust of claim holders and duty-bearers, both government and non-government, national and international.


The Sustainable Development Goals in Philippines

The Sustainable Development Goals are a global call to action to end poverty, protect the earth’s environment and climate, and ensure that people everywhere can enjoy peace and prosperity. These are the goals the UN is working on in the Philippines. Data in this section is currently being updated and under review.